Alice Sinclair Writing Competition

Alice Sinclair was a member of Hunter Branch of the Fellowship of Australian Writers NSW and offered her support to get the Lake Macquarie Branch of FAWNSW up and running when there was an interest expressed by our founding member, Rina Robinson. Alice maintained her support of both Hunter and LakeMac FAW branches until her untimely death.

In recognition of her support, the branch set up a biennial writing competition in her honour.

***Please note – Due to a recent corruption in our mailbox, not all entries may have arrived in our mailbox. If you have not received an acknowledgement email from us please contact us again at:
All acknowledged entries are unaffected. We apologise for this inconvenience.

This year’s competition: AS

To download full competition details:     AS – Competition Package (v.170518)

To download the Entry Form:   AS – entry form (v.200418)

Category A:      Poetry (free or traditional to 50 lines) – open theme.

Category B:      Short Story (to 2,500 words) – open theme.

Prizes in each category:        $100 + certificate for first[1];

$50 + certificate for second;

Certificates for any commended entries.

 Eligibility:            Open to all writers.

Limit:                   Maximum two (2) stories and/or two (2) poems per entrant.

Entry fee:            $10 for each entry in each category. Payments to be made by direct deposit as follows:

BSB 637 000

Account Number: 719873561

Name of account: Lake Macquarie Branch FAW

NB: Please include your name in ‘Reference’ for identification

Competition Conditions:  provided in Competition Package download

Please note that you may only submit entries via email in .doc, .docx or .pdf format.

Submission of entries:  Entries must be accompanied by the official Entry Form (please download above). Please note that if your entry does not meet entry conditions, it will be disqualified and the entry fee not refunded.

Entries with entry form are to be sent by email attachment to:  with ‘Alice Sinclair Competition entry’ in the subject line of the email.

Closing date:       Friday, 31 August 2018.

Notification of winners:        Winners will be announced at the Lake Macquarie FAW meeting, Saturday, 10th November 2018. Results will also be published in the FAW(NSW) publication , Writers Voice.

[1]At the judges’ discretion, the first prize may be split between two entrants (i.e. certificate and $50 each).


Get those pencils sharpened!

Sharpener Pencil Sharpener Sharpen Pencil Shavings
Sharpener Pencil Sharpener Sharpen Pencil Shavings