Biennial Alice Sinclair Memorial Writing Competition

The 2018 Alice Sinclair Memorial Writing Competition has now closed!

We are delighted to announce that the 2018 Winners were:


First Place: ‘if I were to tell you’, Anne Casey, NSW

Second Place: ‘Tosca, Northern Territory’, Linda Visman, NSW

Commended: ‘Smoke’, Kate Maxwell, NSW


First Place: ‘A Handful of Gravel, the Click of a Key’, Linda Carter, Vic

Second Place: ‘Fishtailing’, Sean Crawley, NSW


‘How to spot a bruise in a diamond crown’, Paulette Smythe, Vic

‘Still Night’, Brenda Madden, NSW

‘Tony is Angry’, Jan Mitchell, NSW

Some background to our competition:

Alice Sinclair was a member of Hunter Branch of the Fellowship of Australian Writers NSW and offered her support to get the Lake Macquarie Branch of FAWNSW up and running when there was an interest expressed by our founding member, Rina Robinson. Alice maintained her support of both Hunter and LakeMac FAW branches until her untimely death.

In recognition of her support, the branch decided to set up a biennial writing competition in her honour.

Category A:      Poetry (free or traditional to 50 lines) – open theme.

Category B:      Short Story (to 2,500 words) – open theme.


Sharpener Pencil Sharpener Sharpen Pencil Shavings